The best bits of Queanbeyan and surrounds.

Queanbeyan Canberra Rugby League Knock Out a huge success

Queanbeyan Canberra Rugby League Knock Out a huge success

Seiffert Oval was buzzing on Saturday when First Nations rugby league players came from around NSW to play in the Queanbeyan Canberra Community Rugby League Knockout.

Organiser Craig Williams said he was proud of how the teams came together on the day;  “The day was a great success and the football was played in the spirit it should be”. 

Squiggly Memorial team ready to run.

10 mens teams competed on the day including; Squiggys Memorial, Condo Boomerangs, Whippy Williams Memorial, Nans Memorial, YBAD, Boomanulla Raiders, Harold Griffen Memorial, Dreamtime Yowies, Serpent United and Roseby Park Raiders. Local referees did an amazing job in officiating all 18 matches that included local First Nations men, women and children.


The U10’s boys giving it their all.

The Condobolin Boomerangs took out the cup on the day, staying true to their name and coming from behind to steal the victory with less than a minute on the clock. The Boomerangs defeated the South Coast team Serpent United, 28-22. The repechage winners were Harold Griffen Memorial who made an incredible effort, travelling the longest, all the way from Kempsey, 700 kilometres from Seiffert Oval. 

The Harold Griffen Memorial team.

The competition featured some impressive talent including former Roosters player Andrew Walker and 2021 Les McIntyre medalist Tre Holten-Williams. Troy Dargin from the winning Condobolin team was named the Mal Wighton player of the knock out.  

Clash of the forwards.

Two Canberra women’s sides battled it out throughout the day, but ultimately the Queanbeyan Canberra United team put up a hard fight to become the women’s champions, defeating YBAD in their grand final match. Courtney Livermore, daughter of Queanbeyan Palerang Deputy Mayor Esma Livermore, was awarded the Best and Fairest Player medal for women’s comp, displaying impressive on skills in the winning Queanbeyan Canberra United team.

The women’s Queanbeyan Canberra United and YBAD teams.

The young up and coming First Nations players were featured in u10 and u13s matches, and also partook in a “dash for cash” run, sprinting the length of field to win a $100 cash prize. 

Other award winners on the day included; Elijah Pettit-Young (Condobolin) awarded the Brad Keed Rising Star award; Tyran Pettit-young (Condobolin) awarded the Dale Huddleston Best back Award; Ashley Kenny (Serpents) awarded the Darren Ingram Best Forward Award. 

Young players lining up for kick off.

“Brad Keed, Darren Ingram and Mal Wighton are all Indigenous men who have all passed away, the awards are named in their memory. Dale Huddleston has contributed significantly junior and men’s local footy in Canberra and Queanbeyan region” Craig Williams said. 


Queanbeyan Canberra United women’s players coming in for a try.

Organiser Craig Williams said he is looking forward to next year’s event being bigger and better, and the competition would welcome sponsors from the community, so that they can continue to provide sporting opportunities to young First Nations people.

For more Queanbeyan news, like Q! News on Facebook and follow us on Instagram

All Images supplied by Trisha’s Sports Photos.


About the Author: Holly Winchester

Part Jennifer Coolidge, part Jennifer Garner (gaudy and geeky), Holly idolises Dolly Parton and Princess Di and loves NRL. When she's not creating killer content, you’ll find Holly at the Maccas drive thru getting her chai latte fix or buying 1990s memorabilia for the walls of her Googong home. Specialist subject: the Woolies carpark.